Kalidas Samman 2009-10’ for Dr. N. Rajam, Saroja Vaidyanathan

Kalidas Samman for 2009-10 to be conferred on Celebrated violinist Dr. N. Rajam and distinguished Bharat Natayam danseuse Guru Saroja Vaidyanathan for their contribution the field of classical singing and classical dance respectively.

  • The Kalidas Samman is an esteemed Arts Award awarded yearly by the Govt of Madhya Pradesh in India. The award named after Kālidāsa, a renowned Classical Sanskrit writer of ancient India, widely regarded as the greatest poet and dramatist in the Sanskrit language.

In 1980, the Kalidas Samman was first awarded. Initially the Kalidas Samman was conferred in alternate years. From 1986-87 onwards, the awards are presented yearly. The award is presented in all 4 fields every year. The award is for outstanding achievement in any one of the following 4 categories:

  • Classical Music
  • Classical Dance
  • Theatre
  • Plastic Arts

Topics: , , , , , , ,