Zonal Cultural Centres

Zonal Cultural Centres have been conceptualized with the aim of projecting cultural kinships, which transcend territorial boundaries. The idea is to arouse and deepen awareness of the local cultures and to show how these merge into Zonal identities and eventually into the rich diversity of India’s composite culture. At present, there are seven ZCCs in the country as follows:

No. Name of the centre Headquarters Member States
1 North Zone Cultural Centre Patiala Jammu & Kashmir, Himachal Pradesh, Punjab, Haryana,Uttarakhand, Rajasthan and Union Territory of Chandigarh
2. West Zone Cultural Centre Udaipur Rajasthan, Maharashtra, Gujarat, Goa, Union Territories of Daman & Diu and Dadra & Nagar Haveli
3 South Zone Cultural Centre Thanjavur Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, Kerala, Tamil Nadu, Union Territories of Andaman & Nicobar Islands, Lakshadweep, Puducherry.
4 South Central Zone Cultural Centre Nagpur Andhra Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh and Maharashtra
5 Eastern Zonal Cultural Centre Kolkata Assam, Bihar, Jharkhand, Manipur, Orissa, Sikkim, Tripura, West Bengal and Union Territory of Andaman and Nicobar Islands.
6 North Central Zone Cultural Centre Allahabad Uttar Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, Bihar, Haryana, Rajasthan, Uttarakhand and NCT of Delhi.
7 North East Zone Cultural Centre Dimapur Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Sikkim and Tripura.

ZCCs conduct various activities such as National Cultural Exchange Programme, Shilpgram activities, folk dance festivals etc.