What is the significance of Ashes Series?

The Ashes Series stands for one of the cricket’s highest trophies. The term got birth after England was defeated by Australia on English soil on August 29, 1882. The following day “Sporting Times” supported a mock obituary of English cricket which stated that the body of English cricket will be cremated and the ashes will be taken back to Australia. The English team led by its Captain Hon Ivo Bligh on its tour to Australia vowed to bring the ashes back. The Australian team, in turn, vowed to defend it with everything. Thus, it has come to resonate as the most prestigious prize of the game.


  • The Series comprises five test matches.
  • The matches are conducted either in England or Australia.
  • The winning team gets the replica of the urn( the original of which was gifted by a group of Melbourne women to Captain Bligh)
  • 325 tests have been played ever since out of which Australia has recorded 130 victories while England has only 106. 89 matches came to a draw.
  • England is the current holder of the Ashes after its victory in 2015.