What is the Capital of North Sikkim?

Sikkim has 4 districts viz. East Sikkim (Capital: Gangtok), West Sikkim (Capital : Geyzing) , North Sikkim (Capital: Mangan) and South Sikkim (Capital: Namchi ). Sikkim has total 9 subdivisions viz. Gangtok, Pakyong, Rongli, Namchi, Soreng,Gyalshing, Rabongla, Mangan, Chungthang. Some other important towns are Jorethang, Singtam, Rangpo, Pakyong, Rhenock, Meli, Chungthang and Soreng.
  • State Animal of Sikkim is Red Panda (Ailurus fulgens),
  • State Bird is Blood Pheasant (Ithaginis cruentus)
  • State Flower is Nobile Orchid (Dendrobium nobile)
  • State Tree is Rhododendron (Rhododendron niveum).

memorable point: International Rhododendron Festival has launched in Sikkim on 25 april 2010,which is first of its kind in Indian Himalayas. Sikkim acting Governor MK Narayanan inaugurated the International Rhododendron festival at Lachung in North Sikkim. 14 countries are participating in this festival. The main venue is Singba Rhododendron Sanctuary at Yumthang Valley in North Sikkim.

Video from our Channel

Random Articles