What are types of NBFCs?

Previously there were 3 types of NBFC’s classified by reserve bank of India:

  1. Asset Finance Company (AFC)
  2. Investment Company (IC)
  3. Loan Company (LC)

Which is 4th Category?

NBFCs engaged predominantly in the infrastructure financing represented to the RBI that there should be a separate category of infrastructure financing NBFCs in view of the critical role played by them in providing credit to the infrastructure sector. Accordingly the RBI declared in its Second Quarter Review of the Monetary Policy for the year 2009-10 as follows:

To introduce a fourth category of NBFCs as ‘infrastructure NBFCs’, defined as entities which hold minimum of 75 per cent of their total assets for financing infrastructure projects.

So, apart from the three categories viz., Asset Finance Companies, Loan companies and Investment Companies, a fourth category of NBFCs as “Infrastructure Finance Companies”(IFCs) has been introduced.

Download GKToday's Android App for Current Affairs updates and quizzes.



  • vivek kumar

    Sir please give me the full form and tell me about the NBFCs.
    becouse without the meaning of NBFCs, this question is not complete.

  • vinod

    nbfc means non banking financial companies

  • Aayush

    vivek yaar. there is an article on nbfc also. http://www.gktoday.in/what-is-a-nbfc/
    what is this behaviour. search properly.