GK Question- 45

The Chairman of Rajya Sabha in India is elected by the members of
1. Rajya Sabha
2. Lok Sabha
3. Members of legislative Assembly
Choose the correct option:
[A]Only 1
[B]1 & 2
[C]1, 2 & 3
[D]None of them

Explanation: This question is asking about the Chairman of Rajya Sabha. The article 89. (1) says that Vice-President of India shall be ex officio Chairman of the Council of States. This means that we are being asked about the election of Vice President. Article 66. (1) say that The Vice-President shall be elected by the members of an electoral college consisting of the members of both Houses of Parliament in accordance with the system of proportional representation by means of the single transferable vote and the voting at such election shall be by secret ballot. This means that both the houses of parliament play role in election of Vice President. Please note that Deputy chairman of Rajya Sabha is elected by the members of Rajya Sabha only.