Tea Board of India

In 1903 Indian Tea Cess Bill was passed which provided for levying a cess on tea exports – the proceeds of which were to be used for the promotion of Indian tea both within and outside India. It was a predecessor to present Tea Board of India.

The Tea Board of India was set up under section 4 of the Tea Act 1953 was constituted on 1st April 1954. It has succeeded the Central Tea Board and the Indian Tea Licensing Committee which functioned respectively under the Central Tea Board Act, 1949 and the Indian Tea Control Act, 1938 which were repealed.

The Board is constituted of 31 members (including Chairman) drawn from Members of Parliament, tea producers, tea traders, tea brokers, consumers, and representatives of Governments from the principal tea producing states, and trade unions.

It is reconstituted every 3 years and its head office is located at Kolkata.

Main functions of Tea Board of India
  • Rendering financial and technical assistance for cultivation, manufacture and marketing of tea.
  • Export Promotion
  • Aiding Research and Development activities for augmentation of tea production and improvement of tea quality.
  • Extend financial assistance in a limited way to the plantation workers and their wards through labour welfare schemes.
  • To encourage and assist both financially and technically the unorganised small growers sector.
  • Collection and maintenance of Statistical data and publication
  • Such other activities as are assigned from time to time by the Central Government.

Tags: ,