Pyithu Hluttaw

The people’s assembly of Burma is called Pyithu Hluttaw. The first elections to Pyithu Hluttaw were held in 1990, under the new military administration. Latest elections were held recently. The last multiparty elections were held in Burma in 1960. Later, Ne Win, a Burmese military commander founded the Burma Socialist Programme Party (BSPP) and one party rule system in 1962. This system collapsed in 1988 and later in the same year, the military staged a coup d’etat stating that they were going to hold "free and fair" elections in 1990.

Video from our Channel

Random Articles