How Many Zonal Councils were established in India in 1956?

Five Zonal Councils were set up vide Part-III of the States Re-organization Act, 1956. At current the following is the composition of these councils:

  1. The Northern Zonal Council: It comprises States of Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu & Kashmir, Punjab, Rajasthan, National Capital Territory of Delhi and Union Territory of Chandigarh;
  2. The Central Zonal Council: It comprises the States of Chhattisgarh, Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh and Madhya Pradesh;
  3. The Eastern Zonal Council: It comprises States of Bihar, Jharkhand, Orissa, Sikkim and West Bengal;
  4. The Western Zonal Council: It comprises States of Goa, Gujarat, Maharashtra and the Union Territories of Daman & Diu and Dadra & Nagar Haveli; and
  5. The Southern Zonal Council : It comprises States of Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, Kerala, Tamil Nadu and the Union Territory of Puducherry.
Video from our Channel

Random Articles