New Zealand wins 2015 Rugby World Cup

New Zealand has won the 2015 Rugby World Cup for record third time by defeating Australia.
In the final match played at Twickenham, England the winning team defeated Australian team by 34-17 score.
With this victory, it also became the first nation to retain the Webb Ellis Cup and it was their first victory on the foreign soil.

About Rugby World Cup

  • Rugby World Cup is contested every four years between the top international teams.
  • It was first held in 1987 and was co-hosted by New Zealand and Australia.
  • The winning team is awarded with the William Webb Ellis Cup named after William Webb Ellis who invented sport of rugby according to a popular legend.
  • Four countries have won the trophy since its inception. New Zealand has won it three times (1987, 2011 and 2015).
  • 2 teams have won twice Australia (1991 and 1999) and South Africa (1995 and 2007). England has won it once in 2003.



Latest E-Books