Winter session of the parliament to begin from November 24

The Cabinet Committee on Parliamentary Affairs (CCPA) has finalised the dates of the Winter Session of Parliament. The winter session is scheduled to start from November 24 and conclude on December 23. The month-long winter session will have a total of 22 sittings. This will be the second major session under the new NDA government.



67 bills, including 59 in the Rajya Sabha and 8 in the Lok Sabha are pending in Parliament. Other than this, the government is expected to push for the passage of at least 30 to 35 bills. One of the bills that the Centre is pushing for is the Constitutional Amendment Bill that brings into effect the Goods and Services Tax (GST). Another bill that is being pushed for is the Insurance Amendment Bill that seeks to hike the permissible FDI limit in the insurance sector to 49%.


The CCPA looks after the progress of government business in the Parliament. The Committee is headed by the Minister of Home Affairs.
Rajnath Singh heads the current CCPA. Finance Minister Arun Jaitley, External Affairs Minister Sushma Swaraj, Law Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad, Chemicals and Fertilisers Minister Anant Kumar and Parliamentary Affairs Minister Venkaiah Naidu are also members of this Committee.
Three BJP Ministers are also part of the committee as special invitees.



Latest E-Books