What is Djibouti Code of Conduct?

India joined Djibouti Code of Conduct on September, 16 2020 as an Observer State.

Djibouti Code of Conduct

  • It is a regional maritime security cooperation agreement.
  • The conduct was established by International Maritime Organization (IMO) in 2008.
  • It consists of 19 member states surrounding the Gulf of Aden, Red Sea, East Coast of Africa and Indian Ocean Region.
  • The member countries include- Eritrea, Egypt, Ethiopia, Oman, Comoros, Jordan, Djibouti, Maldives, Kenya, Somalia, Madagascar, Mozambique, Mauritius, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Seychelles, Yemen, UAE (United Arab Emirates), and United Republic of Tanzania.
  • The observers include- Norway, Japan, UK, US.
  • India also became an observer state under the grouping recently.

Objectives of the Grouping

Under the Djibouti Code of Conduct, the countries work with following objectives:

  1. To investigate, arrest and prosecute persons who are suspected to commit the piracy acts in the region.
  2. To intercept and seize suspected ships and property.
  3. To rescue the persons, property and ships that are subjected to piracy and armed robbery.
  4. To provide proper care and treatment of seafarers, fishermen and passengers.
  5. To hire authorised officials to keep a check on patrol ships.

Jeddah Agreement

The Jeddah Agreement is the revised Djibouti Code of Conduct. Under the agreement, the countries have agreed to work together to build national and regional capacity so as to address maritime security issues. The agreement emphasises on the Blue Economy that will support the sustainable economic growth, employment, food security, prosperity, maritime security and stability in the region.




Latest E-Books