Union Government shortlist 27 Cities for Smart Cities Mission in 3rd batch

The Union Ministry of Urban Development has shortlisted 27 cities from 12 States in the list of third batch of Smart Cities Mission.
These cities were shortlisted based on scores obtained in the latest round of the Smart City Challenge competition in which total 63 cities had participated.
This competition list was topped by Amritsar in Punjab. With five cities, Maharashtra has the highest number of cities in the list.
The list also includes four cities each from Tamil Nadu and Karnataka, three cities from Uttar Pradesh and two each from Rajasthan and Punjab. Nagaland and Sikkim with one city each for the first time have made it to the list.
Earlier in the first batch announced in January 2016, 20 cities had made into the list. In the second batch 13 cities were selected. With declaration of third batch, total 60 cities have been chosen for the Smart Cities Mission.
27 shortlisted smart cities (Rank wise) are

  • Amritsar (Punjab).
  • Kalyan-Dombivili (Maharashtra).
  • Ujjain (Madhya Pradesh).
  • Tirupati (Andhra Pradesh).
  • Nagpur (Maharashtra).
  • Managaluru (Karnataka).
  • Vellore (Tamil Nadu).
  • Thane (Maharashtra).
  • Gwalior (Madhya Pradesh).
  • Agra (Uttar Pradesh).
  • Nashik (Maharashtra).
  • Rourkela (Odisha).
  • Kanpur (Uttar Pradesh).
  • Madurai (Tamil Nadu).
  • Tumakuru (Karnataka).
  • Kota (Rajasthan).
  • Thanjavur (Tamil Nadu).
  • Namchi (Sikkim).
  • Jalandhar (Punjab).
  • Shivamogga (Karnataka).
  • Salem (Tamil Nadu).
  • Ajmer (Rajasthan).
  • Varanasi (Uttar Pradesh).
  • Kohima (Nagaland).
  • Hubbali-Dharwad (Karnataka).
  • Aurangabad (Maharashtra).
  • Vadodara (Gujarat).



Latest E-Books