Union Government to redraw Red Corridor

The Union Government is planning to redraw Red Corridor by reducing the number of Maoist (LWE: Left wing extremism) affected districts by about a fifth.
In this regard, approximately 20 of the 106 districts which have been described as being Maoist-affected and are part of the Red Corridor may be removed from the list.
Consequences: Once these districts are taken off the list of Red Corridor, the financial aid made available to these districts annually for various developmental works will dry up.
Key facts

  • The Red Corridor is a region in the eastern part of India that experiences considerable Naxalite–Maoist insurgency.
  • There are 106 districts spanning across 10 States in the Red Corridor.’ Of these, 44 districts are worst-affected.
  • These 10 states are Bihar, Andhra Pradesh, Jharkhand, Maharashtra, Telangana, Odisha, West Bengal, Uttar Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh.
  • Union Government adds districts into Red Corridor by taking into considerations (i) Their violence profile. (ii) Assessment of logistical and other support provided to armed Maoist cadres by their sympathisers and ground worker (iii) Positive changes brought about by development work that these districts have seen.



Latest E-Books