Union Government declares Kerala drought-hit

The Union has declared Kerala drought-hit, along with seven other States. The declaration was based on a memorandum submitted to the Union Ministry of Agriculture by Kerala Government seeking assistance for drought relief activities. Other seven states are Tamil Nadu, Karnataka, Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh, Andhra Pradesh, Rajasthan and Madhya Pradesh. Centre has allowed 50 additional working days in these eight states under Mahatma Gandhi National Rural Employment Guarantee (MGNREGA) Scheme and shall receive assistance of Rs. 24,000 crore.


Latest E-Books