Ukraine crisis 2014: Russian President Vladimir Putin signed treaty to make Crimea part of Russia

Russian President Mr. Vladimir Putin and the leaders of Crimea signed a treaty in Moscow to make Crimea part of Russia again. Though, Mr. Putin stated that he has no plan to seize any other regions of Ukraine.

  • As per the resolution approved by the new republic’s legislature, Crimea has also decided to switch to Russian time by moving the clock forward two hours by March 30, 2014.
  • Though, peninsula will keep the existing Ukrainian budget and tax codes until Crimea formulates its own related regulations.

 About newly-proclaimed Republic of Crimea

  • Formerly known as the Autonomous Republic of Crimea.
  • Capital:Simferopol.
  • Official languages: Russian, Crimean Tatar and Ukrainian.
  • Prime Minister of Crimea: Sergey Aksyonov.
  • Officially currency: Russian Ruble (though, Ukrainian Hryvnias will continue to circulate till January 2016).
  • Elections to the government bodies of Crimea and Sevastopol shall be conducted on September, 2015. Till then, current Parliament of Crimea and the Council of Ministers of Crimea along with the Legislative Assembly of the city of Sevastopol will continue their work.
  • Ukrainian citizens and non citizens permanently living in Crimea and Sevastopol will automatically be recognized as Russian unless they express their wish to maintain their current citizenship within a month.

Note: After the dissolution of the Soviet Union, Crimea stayed with Ukraine in 1991 as the Republic of Crimea before Ukraine later changed its name as the Autonomous Republic of Crimea.