Term of K Kasturirangan Committee extended by Government of India

Recently, the Union Human Resource Development Ministry has extended the term of K. Kasturirangan Committee to draft a new education policy till August 31. The committee, which was supposed to submit the report by 30 June, had sought an extension to give final shape to the policy and the minister has approved it. This is the third extension granted to the panel. Initially, it was supposed to submit its report by December 2017. The existing National Education Policy (NEP) was framed in 1986 and revised in 1992. A new National Education Policy (NEP) was part of the BJP manifesto. Apart from Kasturirangan, the committee has 8 members, including mathematician Manjul Bhargava. The committee headed by the former ISRO chief will also take into account the report of a panel headed by former cabinet secretary TSR Subramanian. K Kasturirangan headed ISRO between 1994 and 2003 and was awarded the country’s second-highest civilian honour — Padma Vibhushan — in 2000.


Latest E-Books