Ten Indian-origin MPs elected to UK Parliament

A record number of 10 Indian-origin Members of Parliament (MPs) were elected in recently concluded general election that elected 56th Parliament of the UK.
It has broken the previous 2010 general election record in which eight Indian-origin were elected.
Following are the elected Indian-origin candidates
Conservative Party:

  • Priti Patel- won from Witham constituency.
  • Rishi Sunak- won from Richmond (Yorks) constituency. He is son-in-law of Infosys co-founder Narayana Murthy.
  • Alok Sharma- won from Reading West constituency.
  • Shailesh Vara- won from Cambridgeshire Northwest constituency.
  • Suella Fernandes- won from Fareham constituency.

Labour Party:

  • Keith Vaz- won from Leicester East constituency.
  • Valerie Vaz- won from Walsall South constituency.
  • Virendra Sharma- won from Ealing Southall constituency.
  • Seema Malhotra- won from south west London constituency.
  • Lisa Nandy- won from Wigan constituency.



Latest E-Books