Surya Prakash appointed as Chairman of Prasar Bharti

Surya Prakash, has been appointed as the Chairman of the Board of Prasar Bharti for a period of three years. Prakash’s name was recommended by a three member committee. The Committee comprised of:-

  • Vice President Hamid Ansari, who is also the head of the committee
  • Press Council of India Chairperson, Markandey Katju
  • Bimal Julka, Secretary of Ministry of Information and Broadcasting

About Surya Prakash

Prakash is a journalist and a distinguished fellow of the Vivekananda International Foundation. At the time of his appointment, he was Consulting Editor of The Pioneer.
came on the recommendation of a three-member committee headed by Vice President Hamid Ansari and comprising Press Council of India chairperson Markandey Katju and Bimal Julka, Secretary, Ministry of Information and Broadcasting. Mr.Prakash has also held ‘key posts at several print and broadcast media organisations including Zee News, The Pioneer, Indian Express and the Eenadu group, among others.’

About Prasar Bharati

Prasar Bharati is an autonomous body that was established under the Prasar Bharati Act in 1997. It is the public broadcaster of India. AIR (All India Radio) and Doordarshan are part of Prasar Bharati. Before the establishment of Prasar Bharati, they were under the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting.


Latest E-Books