Sri Lanka beat India to win its maiden Cricket World Cup T20 title

Sri Lanka lifted their maiden World Twenty20 title by beating India in the finals held at Mirpur , Bangladesh. Sri Lanka 132-4 (17.5 overs) beat India 130-4 (20 overs) by 6 wickets. Sri Lanka finally managed to break their jinx of losing the finals of global events, having gone down in the decider of the 50-over World Cup in 2007 and 2011 and T20 World Cup in 2009 and 2012.  
Dreams of India to become the first team to hold all three limited-overs trophies, were shattered by the 52 not out knock from Sri Lanka’s Kumar Sangakkara. Sri Lanka’s  Kumar Sangakkara and Mahela Jayawardene both aged 36, had announced their plans to retire from T20 international cricket just before start of the World Twenty20 in Bangladesh.
India’s Virat Kohli, won the World Twenty20 player of the tournament award.



Latest E-Books