Sixth Schedule Area Status proposed for Ladakh

The Union Tribal Affairs Ministry of India in order to look after all the requirements that will be needed to preserve and enrich the legacy of the newly formed Union territory of Ladakh has proposed the Sixth Schedule Area status for Ladakh. The Union Tribal Affairs Minister Arjun Munda on Friday, 24th January 2020 announced that the ministry has sent the proposal to the Union Home Ministry to declare the sixth schedule area status to Ladakh.

In the scheduled areas which are declared under the sixth schedule, self-rule is emphasized and the tribal communities are granted significant autonomy and powers to tribal communities to make their own laws. They will also receive central government funds for social and infrastructure development of tribal areas. The sixth schedule status has been conferred to the four states from North-Eastern India: Assam, Meghalaya, Tripura, and Mizoram to date. The sixth schedule grants the protection of the demographic recognition of the natives as the people of Ladakh wanted to get the tribal status for preserving their heritage that won’t allow people from other parts of the country to settle in the region.



Latest E-Books