Sitaram Yechury unanimously elected as General Secretary of CPI (M)

Sitaram Yechury was unanimously elected as the general secretary Communist Party of India (Marxist) on 19 April 2015.
He is the fifth general secretary of the 50 year old party which was formed in 1964.
He was unanimously elected by 91-member new Central Committee (CC) of Party after Ramachandran Pillai had withdrawn from the race.
Yechury succeeded Prakash Karat, who was the General Secretary of the party for one decade i.e. from 2005 to April 2015.
Presently he is member of Rajya Sabha and was elected from West Bengal in July 2005.



Latest E-Books