Shree Ganeshan Chundan wins Nehru Trophy Boat Race 2013

Shree Ganeshan Chundan, the snake boat of the St Francis Boat Club, Harippad won the 61st edition of the Nehru Trophy Boat Race 2013 held in Punnamada Lake in Alleppey (Alappuzha), South Kerala. This is the second consecutive win for Shree Ganeshan that was captained by Arunkumar, Karthikapally. Ganeshan was honoured with the silver trophy that was donated by Jawaharlal Nehru in 1952 with his signature embossed on it.

About the Nehru Trophy Boat Race:

The practice of the boat race started in 1952 after the first Prime Minister of India Jawaharlal Nehru visited the area in Kerela. The villagers held a boat race to honour his visit in the area.

The Nehru Trophy Boat Race is conducted every year on the second Saturday of August. Nehru donated a silver trophy to the winners of the race and since then the competition is held by his name.

The main attraction of the contest remains the snake boats, which are locally known as Chundan Vallam, which means Beaked Boat. Snake boats have been named following its structure that is long and narrow in shape and 36 to 42 meter in its length.



Latest E-Books