Sanjay Mitra Appointed as Next Defence Secretary

The Appointments Committee of the Cabinet has approved the appointment of 1982 West Bengal cadre IAS officer Sanjay Mitra as the next defence secretary. He will have a fixed tenure of two years. Prior to this appointment, Mitra was the secretary in the ministry of road transport and highways.

Other appointments

Anant Kumar Singh, a 1984 batch IAS officer of Uttar Pradesh has been appointed as the secretary in the textiles ministry. Anant Kumar Singh is the first officer from the 1984 batch to get the secretary-level appointment.
Rashmi Verma who was the secretary in the textiles ministry has been moved to a similar position in the ministry of tourism.
Rajiv Srivastava, a 1981 batch IAS officer of Rajasthan cadre, will be the next secretary in the ministry of woman and child development.
Leena Nair, a 1982 batch IAS of Tamil Nadu Cadre has been made secretary in the ministry of tribal affairs.
Jagdish Prasad Meena has been appointed as secretary in the department of consumer affairs.
BR Sharma, a 1984 batch IAS officer of the Jammu and Kashmir cadre has been appointed as additional secretary in the home ministry.



Latest E-Books