Rest of India wins 2015-16 Irani Cup Cricket Title

Rest of India has won the Irani Cup Cricket Title 2015-16 by defeating Mumabi in the final match of the cup by four wickets.
In the final match played at Brabourne Stadium in Mumbai, Rest of India overhauled the record victory target of 480 by making 482 for 6 on the fifth and final day.
This successful chase was also the best-ever run-chase in the Irani Cup history. It has bettered Rest of India’s previous 424, chasing target set by Delhi at the Ferozshah Kotla in 1982-83.

About Irani Cup

  • The Irani Cup tournament was started during the 1959-60 season to mark the completion of 25 years of the Ranji Trophy championship.
  • It is named after the late Zal R Irani, who was associated with the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) from its inception in 1928 till his death in 1970.
  • The tournament is always played between the previous year’s Ranji Trophy winners and the Rest of India Team.
  • ZR Irani was the long time treasurer of the BCCI and a keen patron of the cricket.



Latest E-Books