Ram Nath Kovind, Acharya Dev Vrat appointed as Governors of Bihar, HP

President Pranab Mukherjee has appointed Acharya Dev Vrat and Ram Nath Kovind as the governors of Himachal Pradesh and Bihar respectively.
Their appointments will take into effect from the dates they assume charge of their respective offices
Governor of Bihar

  • Mr. Kovind will succeed Keshri Nath Tripathi (Governor of West Bengal) who was holding additional charge of Bihar. He had been a two-time Rajya Sabha member between 1994-2000 and 2000-06.
  • He hails from Kanpur, Uttar Pradesh and is a lawyer by profession. He was a senior BJP leader and had severed as chief of BJP Scheduled Caste Morcha.

Governor of Himachal Pradesh

  • Acharya Dev Vrat will succeed Kalyan Singh (Governor of Rajasthan) who was holding the additional charge of Himachal Pradesh.

Constitutional provisions of Governor

  • Article 153: It says that there shall be Governor for each state of India. 7th Constitutional Amendment Act, 1956 had facilitated the appointment of the same person as a Governor for two or more states.
  • Article 156: Governor is appointed by President and hold office during the pleasure of President. It should be also noted that this article also mentions tenure of Governor.
  • In this regard it says that Governor shall hold office for the term of 5 years from date he enters upon his office but usually it depends upon pleasure of President.



Latest E-Books