Rajiv Mathur appointed new Chief Information Commissioner

President Pranab Mukherjee appointed former Intelligence Bureau chief Rajiv Mathur (64) as the new Chief Information Commissioner (CIC). Mathur succeeds Sushma Singh as the head of the transparency watchdog. His name was recommended by a three-member selection panel headed by outgoing PM Manmohan Singh. His term will be of just 3 months.
At present, there are seven Information Commissioners — Vijai Sharma, Basant Seth, Yashovardhan Azad, Sharat Sabharwal, Manjula Prasher, M A Khan Yusufi and Prof Madabhushanam Sridhar Acharyulu.



Latest E-Books