Raghubar Das to be first non-tribal and 10th CM of Jharkhand

Raghubar Das will be 10th Chief Minister of Jharkhand. His name was announced after elected members Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) from state elected him as their leader.
He will also become first non-tribal Chief Minister of Jharkhand since it was granted statehood status after bifurcating from Bihar on 15 November 2000.
All previous Chief Ministers of Jharkhand were tribal. They are Babulal Marandi, Arjun Munda, Shibu Soren, Madhu Koda, Hemant Soren.
About Raghubar Das

  • Raghubar Das will be Sixth Chief Minister as a person. He was recently elected to state legislative assembly from Jamshedpur (East) constituency.
  • He started his career as a labourer in Tata Steel. He did his schooling and college in Jamshedpur and later joined the Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad.
  • Political career: He had joined BJP in 1980 and was elected as the state BJP chief twice.
  • He is five-time MLA from Jamshedpur East constituency. Earlier he became a minister in the Jharkhand government for the first time in 2000. He also has served as the Deputy CM in the Shibu Soren government from 2009-10.

In 2014 Jharkhand State Assembly election , Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) had emerged victorious by winning 37 out of total 81 seats in state.
BJP’s along with its ally All Jharkhand Students Union (AJSU) which has won 5 seats  in total has 42 seats, thus forming government.



Latest E-Books