President Pranab Mukherjee conferred Bharat Ratna on Prof. C N R Rao and Sachin Tendulkar

Screenshot_2President Pranab Mukherjee conferred the country’s highest civilian honor Bharat Ratna on eminent scientist Prof C.N.R. Rao and cricket maestro Sachin Tendulkar at Rashtrapati Bhavan in New Delhi.

  • Prof C.N.R.Rao is the third scientist after C V Raman and former President A P J Abdul Kalam, to be awarded with the honor.
  • Sachin Tendulkar, who retired from international cricket last year, is the first sports-person to be bestowed with the honor. He is also the first active sportsperson to become a Rajya Sabha member last year.

Union Home Ministry’s guidelines about Bharat Ratna:
Under the Constitution, the award cannot be used as a prefix or suffix to the recipient`s name. Though the award winner can use mention as ‘Awarded Bharat Ratna by the President’ or ‘Recipient of Bharat Ratna Award’ in their bio-data, letter head or visiting cards. The recipient receives a Sanad (certificate) signed by the President and a medallion. It does not carry any monetary grant.
Note: The Bharat Ratna has been conferred after a long gap with classical vocalist Pandit Bhimsen Joshi being the last recipient in 2008.




Latest E-Books