Pinarayi Vijayan sworn-in as Kerala Chief Minister

Veteran CPI (M) leader Pinarayi Vijayan was sworn-in as 12th Chief Minister of Kerala after the left Democratic Front (LDF) had won 2016 state assembly election.
State Governor P Sathasivam administered his oath of office and secrecy to him along with other 18 ministers of his government in Thiruvananthapuram.
In the 2016 state assembly election, the CPI (M)-led coalition of LDF had emerged victorious after winning 91 seats in the 140 member Assembly. Then ruling United Democratic Front (UDF) had emerged as largest opposition coalition after winning 47 seats.

About Pinarayi Vijayan

  • Born on 24 May 1945 in Malabar district in then Madras Presidency of British India.
  • He had entered into active politics through student union activities and had joined the Communist Party in 1964.
  • Currently he is a member of the CPI(M) and is also a member of its Politburo since he was elected in 2002.
  • He had served as Secretary of the Kerala State Committee of the CPI(M) from 1998 to 2015. He is the longest serving secretary in the history of party.
  • Earlier he was elected as MLA in 1970, 1977 and 1991 from Koothuparamba and in 1996 from Payyannur. In 2016 he won from from Dharmadom constituency
  • He had served as Minister of Electric Power and Co-operatives from 1996 to 1998 in then left government of Kerala.



Latest E-Books