Panel recommends Awardees for Arjuna Award, No Khel Ratna

The 12-member selection panel, headed by legendary cricketer Kapil Dev, recommended the names of 15 sportspersons for the prestigious Arjuna Award. However, the committee did not recommend anyone one for the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna. This is the third time when no sportsperson has been recommended for the Khel Ratna since the establishing of the country’s highest sporting award in 1991.
Sportspersons recommended for Arjuna Award: 

  1. Ravichandran Ashwin (cricket)
  2. Akhilesh Varma (archery)
  3. Tintu Luka (athletics)
  4. H N Girisha (paralympics)
  5. V Diju (badminton)
  6. Geetu Ann Jose (basketball)
  7. Jai Bhagwan (boxing)
  8. Anirban Lahiri (golf)
  9. Mamta Pujari (kabaddi)
  10. Saji Thomas (rowing)
  11. Heena Sidhu (shooting)
  12. Anaka Alankamony (squash)
  13. Tom Joseph (volleyball)
  14. Renubala Chanu (weightlifting)
  15. Sunil Rana (wrestling)

Now, the Sports Ministry will examine the recommended names. The Ministry is also at the liberty of dropping or even adding any sportsperson in the list for the Arjuna Award.




Latest E-Books