Odisha Assembly passes a resolution for establishing Legislative Council (Vidhan Parishad) in state

On September 6, the Odisha Assembly has passed a resolution for establishing Legislative Council ( Vidhan Parishad or second House of legislature). As per the resolution, the proposed Council will function similar to the Rajya Sabha in Parliament and will have 49 members. In every two years, one-third member of the Legislative Council will retire. Now, the resolution will be sent to the Centre for approval of Parliament to facilitate creation of the Legislative Council. And, then, President’s nod will be require for creation of a Legislative Council in Odisha. Under Article 169, a Legislative Council can be formed “if the Legislative Assembly of the State passes a resolution to that effect by a majority of the total membership of the Assembly and by a majority of not less than two-thirds of the members of the Assembly present and voting”. Parliament can then pass a law to this effect. Currently, 7 states have Legislative Councils – Andhra Pradesh, Bihar, J&K, Karnataka, Maharashtra, Telangana and UP.


Latest E-Books