Nobel physics Prize 2013 goes to Englert and Higgs

Screenshot_2The Nobel Prize in physics has been announced to be given to physicists Francois Englert of Belgium and Peter Higgs of Britain for their theoretical discoveries on how subatomic particles acquire mass.

What is the special contribution of Englert and Higgs to physics?

Both the scientists have been credited for their theoretical works on Higgs boson which they theorized in 1960s. They proposed a mechanism to explain why the most basic building blocks of the Universe have mass. Their theories were confirmed last year by the discovery of the so-called Higgs particle or God-particle, also known as the Higgs boson, at the famous CERN(European Organization for Nuclear Research) laboratory in Geneva. But it would still take decades for the scientists at CERN to confirm its existence.




Latest E-Books