NGT bans light and heavy diesel vehicles over 10 years in six major cities of Kerala

The National Green Tribunal (NGT) Circuit Bench of Kochi has banned light and heavy diesel vehicles which are more than 10 years old in six major cities of Kerala.
These six major cities are: Thiruvananthapuram (state capital), Kochi (commercial capital), Kollam, Thrissur, Kozhikode and Kannur.
Order in this regard was given by the NGT Circuit Bench comprising NGT chairperson Justice Swatanter Kumar and expert member Bikram Singh Sajwan.
The bench issued the order while hearing a petition filed by Lawyers’ Environmental Awareness Forum (LEAF) which had sought action against highly polluting diesel vehicles such as trucks and buses.
Besides, NGT also directed

  • State government not to register any diesel vehicle in the capacity of 2000 CC and more, except public transport and local authority vehicles.
  • If any vehicle is found to be violating this direction, it shall pay 5000 rupees as environmental compensation.
  • The compensation will be collected by pollution control board (PCB) or traffic police and they shall maintain separate account.
  • These funds should be utilized for betterment of environment in these cities.



Latest E-Books