Narendra Modi, Emmanuel Macron jointly awarded UN’s Champions of Earth Award

Prime Minister Narendra Modi and French President Emmanuel Macron jointly awarded 2018 Champions of the Earth award, UN’s highest environmental honour.
They were chosen in Policy Leadership category of the award for their pioneering work in championing International Solar Alliance (ISA) and promoting new areas of levels of cooperation on environmental action. It also PM Modi’s unprecedented pledge to eliminate all single-use plastic in India by 2022.


This year six of the world’s most outstanding environmental changemakers were recognised with the Champions of the Earth Award by United Nations Environment Programme. They were recognised for combination of bold, innovative and tireless efforts to tackle some of most urgent environmental issues of our times. The awards will be presented during the Champions of the Earth Gala in New York City, on the sidelines of the 73rd UN General Assembly.

Other winners of 2018 Champions of Earth awards

India’s Cochin International Airport: It was awarded in Entrepreneurial Vision category for its leadership in the use of sustainable energy. It is world’s first fully solar-powered airport.
Joan Carling: She was awarded lifetime achievement award for her work as one of the world’s most prominent defenders of environmental and indigenous rights.
Beyond Meat and Impossible Foods: They were jointly recognised in Science and Innovation category for their revolutionary development of a popular, plant-based alternative to beef, and for their efforts to educate consumers about environmentally conscious alternatives.
China’s Zhejiang’s Green Rural Revival Programme: It was awarded in inspiration and action category for transformation of once heavily polluted area of rivers and streams in East China’s Zhejiang province.

Champions of the Earth award

It is UN’s highest environmental recognition celebrating exceptional figures from public and private sectors and from civil society, whose actions have had transformative positive impact on the environment. It was established in 2005 by United Nations Environment Programme (UN Environment). This award programme is successor to UNEP’s Global 500 Roll of Honour.
Past laureates include: Afroz Shah, who led world’s largest beach cleanup (2016), Rwandan President Paul Kagame (2016), Ocean Cleanup CEO Boyan Slat (2014), scientist-explorer Bertrand Piccard, developer of Google Earth Brian McClendon (2013), and former US Vice-President Al Gore (2007).



Latest E-Books