Names of 12 cities in Karnataka changed

On 31st October 2014, NDA government cleared the proposal of renaming 12 cities and towns of Karnataka.
Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh gave his approval to the proposal of the Karnataka government made on October 27, 2006 to change the names of the 12 towns and cities.
The home minister’s nod came after Survey of India, Ministry of Railways, Department of Posts, Ministry of Science and Technology and Intelligence Bureau have given their No Objection and clearance for the change in the nomenclature of the identified cities.
List of renamed cities with their new names

  • Bangalore- Bengaluru
  • Mangalore- Mangaluru
  • Bellary- Ballari
  • Belgaum- Belagavi
  • Bijapur- Vijapura
  • Hospet- Hosapete
  • Hubli- Hubballi
  • Chikmagalur- Chikkamagaluru
  • Mysore- Mysuru
  • Tumkur- Tumakuru
  • Gulbarga- Kalaburagi
  • Shimoga- Shivamogga

Background for renaming cities
The Karnataka government had taken the decision to rename these cities on the occasion of the golden jubilee of formation of the state of Karnataka on 1st November 2006.
The main reason was to change names of these cities was in consonance with their pronunciation in Kannada language.



Latest E-Books