Monsoon Session of Parliament to begin from July 18, 2018

The Monsoon Session of Parliament will be held from July 18 to August 10, 2018. It will span over 24 days and  will have 18 sittings. It was formally announced by Cabinet Committee of Parliamentary Affairs (CCPA) chaired by Home Minister Rajnath Singh. The CCPA recommendation now sets in summoning motion process of President Ram Nath Kovind for formally convening the session.

Key Facts

The legislative business of Monsoon Session, 2018 will include passing of six Ordinances promulgated during the inter-session period before the session. Government is going to introduce bills including Constitution (One Hundred and Twenty-Third Amendment) Bill, 2017 that seeks to accord constitutional status to the National Commission for Backward Classes (NCBC), Transgender Persons (Protection of Rights) Bill, 2016, Muslim Women (Protection of Rights on Marriage) Bill, 2017, National Medical Commission Bill, 2017, Rights of Children to Free and Compulsory Education (Second Amendment) Bill, 2017 for consideration and passing in both Houses of Parliament. Moreover, the election to post of Deputy Chairman, Rajya Sabha will also be held during the session as term of PJ Kurien ends in June 2018.