Meghalaya tribes: Stop Excluding us from Schedule VI

The minor tribes of Meghalaya Hajong, Bodo – Kachari, Mann, Rabha are together put under the category of “unrepresented tribes” for nominations in the state’s autonomous councils. They are in the name of Garo, Khasi and Jaintia. These tribal groups have now asked the CM to exclude them from their provisions of VI schedule of the Constitution.

On September 26, the state Government deciding to recommend to the Standing Committee of the Parliament to remove the word “unrepresented tribes” from the amended special provision. This will deprive certain democratic rights of the communities in the district councils according to MHWA – Meghalaya Hajong Welfare Association.

Sixth Schedule of Constitution

The Schedule – VI in the constitution makes provisions for the administration of tribal areas in 4 states namely Assam, Meghalaya, Tripura and Mizoram. It is different from Schedule V that discusses administration of Scheduled areas and Scheduled tribes of other parts of the country.

These areas do no come under regular administration. They have alternate or special governance mechanisms to protect the rights of these people. It is exclusively for welfare and advancement of the ST.



Latest E-Books