Mahesh Kumar Singla committee constituted to consider ST status to 6 communities of Assam

The Union Government has constituted a committee to consider Scheduled Tribe status to six Communities of Assam.
These six Communities are Koch Rajbongshi, Moran, Matak, Tai Ahom, Chutia and Adivasi (Tea Tribes). It will be headed by Mahesh Kumar Singla, Special Secretary (Internal Security) Ministry of Home Affairs.
Key facts

  • The committee has been constituted by Union Home Ministry in consultation with the Government of Assam.
  • It has been tasked to recommend the modalities for granting of Scheduled Tribe status for the required reservations to the 6 Communities in Assam.
  • It will also look into modalities for shifting the existing reservation for these communities from Other Back Class (OBC) status to ST for protecting their interests to ensure fairness of reservations.



Latest E-Books