LDF's P Sreeramakrishnan elected speaker of Kerela Assembly

Ruling Left Democratic Front’s (LDF) candidate P Sreeramakrishnan was elected as speaker of the 14th legislative assembly of Kerala.
In the voting held in the 140-member legislative assembly, P Sreeramakrishnan secured 92 votes against opposition United Democratic Front’s (UDF) V.P. Sajeendran who got 46 votes.
P Sreeramakrishnan is two-time legislator from Ponnani constituency. He was elected for the first time in 2011 and again in 2016.
He is state committee member of CPI(M) and the Ex- President of the Democratic Youth Federation of India (DYFI).
In the 2016 State Assembly Election, the CPI (M)-led left Democratic Front (LDF) had emerged victorious by winning 91 seats in the 140 member Assembly. The veteran CPI-M leader Pinarayi Vijayan was sworn-in as 12th Chief Minister of Kerala.
The LDF had returned to power in Kerala after 5 years, while then ruling UDF had emerged as largest opposition front by winning 47 seats. The remaining two seats were won by BJP and Independent candidate each.



Latest E-Books