Kyoto Protocol extended till 2020: Doha Climate Conference

Kyoto Protocol which was signed in image1997 to oblige industrialized nations to reduce emission of greenhouse gases to fight global warming has been extended till 2020. The protocol was due to expire at the end of 2012. It was decided in the 18th session of the CoP (Conference of the Parties) to the United Nation Framework Convention on Climate change (UNFCCC) and the 8th session of the CoP serving as the Meeting of the Parties to the Kyoto Protocol held in Doha, Qatar. Around 200 countries participated in the talks.

Highlights of the Conference:

  • New agreement covers only developed nations whose share of world greenhouse gas emissions is less than 15 %, it excludes countries such as China and India.
  • It was agreed to bring a new pact, in 2015, which will be binding to all countries and will replace Kyoto Protocol.
  • The extension was supported by European Union, Australia, Switzerland and eight other industrialised nations.
  • US rejected the idea of equity by refusing to associate itself to any new agreement that is under the Convention.
  • Russia also rejected the proposal.
  • India’s principle of equity and common but differentiated responsibilities (CBDR) were re-introduced in the negotiations after it had been kept out of the talks in 2009 and 2010.
  • It failed to deliver anything of significance for poor countries due to lack of credible pathway to provide then financial aid to deal with climate change.
  • The outcome was also supported by G77 and China, BASIC groups.



Latest E-Books


  • sonam

    Its wonderfull site for all UPSC aspirants…
    thanks alot !!
    Plz try to add Maharastra in States GK Section as early as possible…