Kerala Assembly Election 2016 Results

The coalition of Left Democratic Front (LDF) has won the 2016 Kerala Assembly Election by the absolute majority by winning 91 seats (44.94% votes) of the total 140 seats.
Among the LDF, Communist Party of India (Marxist) by winning 58 seats has emerged single largest party. Other LDF allies have won

  • Communist Party of India: 19 seats.
  • Janata Dal (Secular): 3 seats.
  • Nationalist Congress Party: 2 seats.
  • Other LDF supporters: 9 seats.

The United Democratic Front (UDF) led by outgoing Chief Minister Oommen Chandy has emerged as largest opposition front. It has won total 47 seats (45.83% votes). Party wise result is as follows

  • Indian National Congress: 22 seats.
  • Indian Union Muslim League: 18 seats.
  • Kerala Congress (M): 6 seats.
  • Kerala Congress (Jacob): 1 seat.

BJP opens account in Kerala
Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) for the first time has managed to open an account in Kerala by winning single seat from the Nemom constituency, a suburb of state capital Thiruvananthapuram. BJP was able to secure 10.60% votes in this election.
The seat was won by former Union minister O Rajagopal (86) who won by over 8000 votes. He becomes first BJP MLA in Kerala’s 140-member assembly history.
The general election for the 14th Kerala legislative assembly was held on May 16, 2016 in single phase to elect representatives of the 140 constituencies.
The voter turnout for this assembly election was higher at 77.35 per cent as compared to 75.12 per cent in the previous 2011 general election.



Latest E-Books