Justice Pinaki Chandra Ghose Sworn-in as Lokpal

President Ram Nath Kovind administered the Oath of office to Justice Pinaki Chandra Ghose as Lokpal. Justice Pinaki Chandra Ghose is the first anti-corruption ombudsman of the country. Country’s first Lokpal has been appointed after a long delay of five years. The Lokpal Act had received the assent of the President on January 1, 2014.

Members of Lokpal

The Lokpal act provides for a chairperson and a maximum of eight members in the Lokpal panel and of these, four need to be judicial members.

Judicial Members of Lokpal

Former Chief Justices of different high courts Justices Dilip B Bhosale, Pradip Kumar Mohanty, Abhilasha Kumari together with sitting Chief Justice of Chhattisgarh High Court Ajay Kumar Tripathi have been appointed as judicial members in the Lokpal.

Non-judicial members

The non-judicial members of the Lokpal are first woman chief of Sashastra Seema Bal Archana Ramasundaram, ex-Maharashtra chief secretary Dinesh Kumar Jain, former IRS officer Mahender Singh and Gujarat cadre ex-IAS officer Indrajeet Prasad Gautam.
The chairperson and members will hold office for a term of five years or till they attain 70 years of age. The salary and allowances of the chairman are same as that of the Chief Justice of India. The salary and allowances of members are same as that of a judge of the Supreme Court.




Latest E-Books