Joint Strategic Military Exercises to be held by the CSTO countries

  • CSTO (Collective Security Treaty Organization): 7 former Soviet republics form the CSTO
  • CSTO to hold joint strategic military exercises code-named “Center 2011
  • Drills will begin are due to take place in Russia, Kazakhstan, Tajikistan and Kyrgyzstan
  • Game will be held under the leadership of Russian General Staff Chief Army General and the active phase of the drills will last until September 26, 2011

The Collective Security Treaty Organization is an intergovernmental military alliance which was signed on 15 May 1992. On 7 October 2002, the Presidents of Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia and Tajikistan signed a charter in Tashkent founding the CSTO.


The CSTO is currently an observer organisation at the United Nations General Assembly.


The CSTO employs a “rotating presidency” system in which the country leading the CSTO alternates every year. Belarus currently has the CSTO presidency.


Formation: 15 May 1992

Type:    Military alliance

Headquarters: Moscow, Russia

Membership: 7 member states

Official languages: Russian

Secretary General: Nikolai Bordyuzha


Member states


Current members:

  • Armenia (2002) : Military of Armenia
  • Belarus (2002) : Military of Belarus
  • Kazakhstan (2002) : Military of Kazakhstan
  • Kyrgyzstan (2002) : Military of Kyrgyzstan
  • Russia (2002) : Military of Russia
  • Tajikistan (2002) : Military of Tajikistan
  • Uzbekistan (2006) : Military of Uzbekistan


Former members of the Collective Security Treaty of the Commonwealth of Independent States who are not members of CSTO:

  • Azerbaijan (joined 1994, withdrew 1999)
  • Georgia (joined 1994, withdrew 1999) – plans to join NATO



Latest E-Books