Jhala Nath Khanal – New Prime Minister of Nepal


  • In Nepal, the position of Prime Minister was created in 1799 and as per the records, Damodar Pande is considred to be the First Prime Minister of Nepal.
  • However, the first elected Prime Minister was Bishweshwar Prasad Koirala, in 1959.
  • He held the office for 18 months and then King Mahendra deposed and imprisoned him.
  • After that till 1990, there was no prime Minister, till Government in Nepal shifted from Absolute monarchy to constitutional monarchy.
  • The Constitutional monarchy was abolished on May 28, 2008 by the Constituent Assembly and Nepal became Federal Democratic Republic of Nepal.
  • Girija Prasad Koirala became the prime minister, but he remained in office for just over 3 months.
  • He was followed by Pushpa Kamal Dahal till May 25, 2009. Dahal was forced to resign after an attempt to sack General Rookmangud Katawal, the army chief.
  • His successor Madhav Kumar Nepal remained in the office till February 3, 2011. On 3 February, 2011 Jhala Nath Khanal has been elected new Prime Minister of the Country.



Latest E-Books