Jayalalithaa sworn-in as Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu for fifth time

Jayalalithaa was sworn in as the Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu for the fifth time on 23 May 2015.
Governor K. Rosaiah administered the oath of office and secrecy to her at oath taking ceremony held at Centenary Auditorium of the University of Madras in Chennai.
With this, Jayalalithaa became 29th chief minister of Tamil Nadu for record fifth time which matches the record of former state CM and DMK leader M Karunanidhi.
Apart from Jayalalithaa, 28 other ministers also took oath of office and secrecy. All the ministers for the first time in the history of the state took oath of office and secrecy as a chorus.

  • In September 2014, she had stepped down as the CM after trial court convicted and had sentenced her to 4 years in jail in the 19-year old Disproportionate Assets case.
  • After this judgment of trial court she was disqualified as an MLA in accordance section 8 of the Representation of People’s Act (RPA), 1951.
  • However, Karnataka High Court had acquitted her in the disproportionate assets case on May 11, 2015 which had paved way for her to take over the reins as CM of Tamil Nadu again.

Section 8 of RPA, 1915: Any convicted person sentenced to imprisonment for more than two years is disqualified from the date of such conviction and further barred from contesting election for 6 years after the release.



Latest E-Books