Indian Navy launches fifth Scorpene Submarine “Vagir”

On November 12, 2020, the Indian Navy launched the fifth Scorpene submarine “Vagir” at Mazagon Dock of south Mumbai. The submarine is capable of taking missions such as anti-submarine warfare, anti-surface warfare, mine laying, intelligence gathering and area surveillance.

Key Highlights

Vagir is a part of six Kalvari class submarine that is being built in India. These submarines were designed by French Navy and an energy company DCNS. The six submarines were built under Project-75 of Indian Navy.

About Vagir

Vagir has been named after Sand Fish. It is a deep-sea predator in the Indian Ocean. The first Vagir was commissioned in 1973. The first Vagir submarine was from Russia.

What is Project 75?

The Project 75 aims to build six Scorprene Class attack submarines. The submarines were built through transfer of technology from a French Company DCNS at Mazagon Dock Limited. Under the project, the first Scorpene submarine Kalvari was commissioned in 2017. The second Scorpene Class Submarine that was commissioned under the project was Scorpene Khanderi. The third Scorprene class submarine was INS Karanj. INS Vela was the fourth Scorpene submarine. The fifth Scorpene submarine being inducted is INS Vagir. The INS Vagsheer is yet to be commissioned and is still under construction.

Scoprene Class Submarine

It is a diesel-electric attack submarine that was jointly developed by French Direction des Constructions Navales (DCNS) and Spanish Navantia.

The beneficial feature of these submarines is that they have an additional air-independent propulsion.

Air-Independent Propulsion

It is a marine propulsion technology that allows non-nuclear submarine to operate without accessing surface oxygen (or atmospheric oxygen).

Submarines in Indian Navy

The Nuclear-powered submarines that are currently in service are as follows

  • Chakra Class
  • Arihant Class

The Diesel Electric submarines that are currently in service are as follows

  • Shishumar class
  • Kalvari class
  • Sindhughosh class.




Latest E-Books