Four Indian-Americans selected to US National Academy of Engineering

Four Indian-Americans have been selected to the prestigious US National Academy of Engineering (NAE).
They are part of total 80 selected members list selected for their valuable contributions to the society.
Selected Indian-Americans are

  • Anil K. Jain: He was elected for his contributions to the practice of biometrics and field of engineering. He is an IIT-Kanpur alumnus and currently working as distinguished professor at the Michigan State University in East Lansing in the department of computer science and engineering.
  • Arati Prabhakar: He was chosen for national leadership to advance semiconductor and information technologies. He is currently director of the US Defence Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA) in Virginia.
  • Ganesh Thakur: He was chosen for his leadership in the implementation of integrated reservoir management techniques. Currently, he is the president of Thakur Services Inc. in Houston, Texas.
  • K.R. Sridhar: He was selected for his contributions to thermal packaging of electrochemical systems and transport phenomena and also generation of clean, affordable and reliable power. Currently he is chief executive officer and principal co-founder of Bloom Energy Corporation in California. Earlier he had worked with NASA Mars programme.

About US National Academy of Engineering (NAE)

  • NAE is a private non-profit governmental organization (NGO) in the United States.
  • It was established in 1964 and is part of the US National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine.
  • New members NAE are elected annually by current members based on their distinguished achievements in original research.
  • The NAE operates engineering programs aimed at meeting national needs, encourages research and education. It also recognizes the superior achievements of engineers.


Latest E-Books