India in Phase 2 of Corona Virus Pandemic; No Community Transmissions in India

On March 18, 2020, the Indian Council of Medical Research announced that India is in Phase 2 of spread of COVID-19 and that community transmissions have not begun in India

What are the phases of COVID-19 Transmission?

There are four stages of COVID-19 transmission according to the World Health Organization. They are as follows

Phase 1: Travelers

It is first reported among the travelers entering the country. At this stage, the virus is to be controlled by thermal screening and quarantine. In order to contain this, India has suspended visas, imposed travel bans, suspended facilities such as visa free travel to OCI (Overseas Citizen of India) card-holders.

Phase 2: Local

At this stage the virus spreads from the travelers to the local people through direct contact

Phase 3: Community Transmission

At this stage, the virus spreads among the people with no history of travel or with no direct contact with infected persons.

India is containing Community Transmission of the virus by emphasizing social distancing, discouraging public gathering, etc. The countries where community transmission has begun includes Italy, China and South Korea.

Phase 4: Epidemic

Epidemic is a condition where the spread of the disease if more than the expected spread of disease.

ICMR to test for Community Transmission

Though, India is in Phase 2 of the COVID-19 transmission, the ICMR (Indian Council for Medical Research) is to test for community transmission. This is to be done by randomly testing volunteers.

Also, so far 1020 patients reporting influenza and pneumonia were tested for COVID-19 by the ICMR. The samples have tested negative.




Latest E-Books