India Blue wins 2017-18 Duleep Trophy

India Blue has won 2017-18 Duleep Trophy by defeating defending champion India Red by an innings and 187 runs in the final match played at NPR College ground in Dindigul, Tamilnadu. India Blue’s spinners Deepak Jagbir Hooda (5 for 56) and Saurabh Kumar (5 for 51) were just needed10.5 overs on fourth day of final match to bundle out India Red for 172 in second innings. Himachal Pradesh batsman Nikhil Gangta was named man of match for his superb knock of 130.
Brief scores: India Blue scored 541 runs with all out in 167.3 overs (N R Gangta 136, Anmolpreet Singh 96, Swapnil Singh 69, Parvez Rasool 4 for 150, Mihir Hirwani 3 for 190). They defeated India Red 182 all out in 69.1 overs (B Sandeep 57, Swapnil Singh 5 for 58) and 172 all out in 38.5 overs (Abhinav Mukund 46, Saurabh Kumar 5 for 51, Deepak Hooda 5 for 56) by innings and 187 runs.

Duleep Trophy

It is a domestic first-class cricket tournament played between teams representing geographical zones of India. This tournament was instituted in 1961-62 by BCCI. It is named after Kumar Shri Duleepsinhji of Nawanagar. It is previously contested by three teams, namely India Red, India Blue and India Green.  Since 2016-17, the tournament is played by teams chosen by selectors from Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), apex governing body of cricket. It now also played in day/night format with pink ball.



Latest E-Books